Spiritual Counseling

What is spiritual counseling?  Depending on the provider of spiritual counseling you will receive various definitions.  At Compassionate Counseling Services I provide spiritual counseling to clients that desire it. Spiritual counseling addresses the client’s unique perspective of the divine and integrates that belief system into the treatment plan.  The integration of spiritual treatment may include praying with the client, leading the client in healing prayer, discussing practical steps to grow closer to the divine (defined by the client).

My personal belief systems originate from Catholicism.  My Catholic Christian belief is a foundation of my life and serves as a guide to the meaning and purpose of my life. I pray for each and every client during my daily prayer time.

I do not discriminate on the client’s belief system if it does not match mine.  I meet the client where he/she is at.  Depending on the needs of the client or wishes I may or may not integrate spiritual principals into the counseling session.  This decision is approached at the initial intake or first counseling session.  I discuss with each client if they are spiritual or religious and what that means to them.  If this is important to them I will include discussions for integration of spiritual matters into the counseling session. If spiritual or religion plays no part in the client life, then spiritual aspects of treatment are not integrated.

The most important part of the session for me as a professional counselor involves respecting the client’s belief system and integrating that into the treatment plan. I walk on a journey with each and every client, present to them in their pain, sufferings and hope for change.

Leave a Reply

